Legality

A big apology

To my dear readers and followers… thank you so much for not giving up on me during my long silence. I have had a lot of computer and internet problems as well as life issues to deal with. Hopefully most of that is in the past now and I am looking forward to getting back to blogging, although it may be closer to once a month than once a week.

Meanwhile I am dealing with another life crisis, namely, our first ever ERO review.

A word of explanation for my overseas readers: In New Zealand, as I think I’ve mentioned before, normal educators have to apply to the Ministry of Education (MOE) for an exemption from enrolment in a registered school for each child before that child turns 6. After that, the child’s education can be reviewed at any time in a visit from the Education Review Office (ERO).

I’ve documented the angst we went through last year trying to get an exemption for our fourth child, but I never mentioned how the whole thing actually ended: they decided to give us an exemption and then request the ERO to review the child in a year’s time. That was a year ago.

I was basically pleased, because we have never had a review before and I really feel that I need first-hand experience before I finish writing my book. I’m pleased in another way, too, because it means I’ll have an opportunity to say to the ERO the same things I said to the MOE, things I believe they need to hear. But I can’t forget for a moment that saying those things before almost put me on the wrong side of the law. If it doesn’t go down any better this time, the situation could become very serious.

All this high drama is mostly attention-seeking, however, or simply natural human panic. The ERO are traditionally much more sympathetic to home education, more experienced and more pleasant to deal with than the MOE and I have reason to believe that the two I’ll be meeting with are reasonable, nice people. I just have a typically twenty-first-century desire to tell the whole electrically wired world about it.

Well, perhaps I’ve become a modern at last. My children will be so pleased with me. But in the most timeless, old-fashioned way, I still want to say… please think of us on Monday. Please pray for us on Monday. I’d be very grateful.n-4 001

4 thoughts on “A big apology

  1. We will certainly be praying for you, and thinking of you as we try to educate normally ourselves tomorrow. May God guide your words, manner and actions as you share with the ERO folk the passion you have for giving your children the best education possible.
    Make sure you mention, in great detail, your wonderful history field trip. It was a pleasure to join you for the tail end of that.
    I am intrigued with the illustration for this particular blog. Is this an example of your modernising transformation as seen in your vehicle choice perhaps? Judging by the number of rungs in that ladder I would expect some problems getting THAT 21st century invention on the Picton Ferry!

    • Thank you, dear sister! Honestly, I have no idea what that picture was supposed to be of… except for the dark light coming from the headlights… (headdarks?)…
      It certainly was a pleasure staying with your ever-so-normal family last month, and I did get the trip scrapbook mostly finished in time to take to the meeting yesterday, which made it easier for the object of persecution to prattle happily about his life. I also earned the dubious honour of having my creation patronizingly compared to the scrapbooks ECE providers keep of their victims’ educational journeys.
      Thanks for making me laugh so much with your comments… and thanks much more for your prayers. XXXOOO

  2. Wow, I just happened to look again at your blog tonight – I haven’t looked for some time since I had noticed you weren’t writing but I never remembered to ask about that. Did the review go ahead? You’ll have to let us know how it went and whether thanks or further prayer or both are needed.

    And I hope the computer problems are now a thing of the past.

    Lois

    • Hi Lois, lovely to hear from you! We were truly upheld in prayer and I was able to share the gospel and my personal testimony with them, not to mention the miracle of keeping my cool. That was at 1 p.m., after a morning of pouring rain in which I spent an hour and a half getting photos I needed printed and then half an hour sitting in A&E with a child with a suspected broken finger!! (When he suddenly forgot which finger he had broken, I realized we could go home and finish getting ready for the meeting.) “Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit,” says the Lord.

Leave a Comment

