Family Life

What women want

We live in a strange world. While prostitutes are clamouring to be recognized as respectable working professionals, thousands of other women are being trapped into sex slavery. While that is going on, girls in Pakistan are clamouring for the right to be enslaved to the school system. And while one gets shot in the head for doing that, American women are clamouring for the right to get shot in the head in the military. Little wonder that “what women want” is the great mystery of the ages.

Augustine of Hippo said to God, “Thou hast made us for thyself, and our hearts are restless until they find rest in thee.” That is the sweet promise of Christ – rest, peace of heart and mind, an end of strife. With such peace, we can turn our backs on the ugly rat race of this world, and the empty baubles of its promises. Women can abandon the folly of trying to prove that we can do everything men can do, and I can be at peace to do whatever the day brings  to me.

I wouldn’t say that, right now in this world, I have found exactly everything I want. I don’t think I would be a woman if I could. But I know for sure that, one day, I will be fully satisfied.

                  “I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness.” (Psalm 17:15)

mum!! 001

3 thoughts on “What women want

  1. Aren’t we a complicated bunch? We want to be recognized, we want to be beautiful, we want we want we want… and you are so right, at the end of the day, He truly is the only one who satisfies. So thankful to know Him!

Leave a Comment

