Blogging Carnival / Education

The unanswered question

This post was written for inclusion in the monthly Homeschool Blogging Carnival hosted by Lisa at The Squishable Baby and Keisha at Unschooling Momma. This month our participants are talking about what they wish someone told them when they started homeschooling.

sbdotsdivider
When I started homeschooling, I wish somebody had told me. Actually, I still wish somebody would tell me when I started homeschooling.

According to my friends at the time, I started homeschooling the day my eldest child turned five. But if and when they became aware of what we were and weren’t doing, some of the friends changed their minds and said that we hadn’t started yet. And in a lot of people’s judgement, eleven and a half years later, we probably still haven’t.

The trouble is, you see, I don’t know what homeschooling is. If it means educating our children, we started doing that before they were born. If it means subjecting them to the same programme of moral filth and cultural revisionism that the schools churn out, by God’s grace we never will. I wish somebody had told me that I’d never figure it out. I wish somebody had told me that I would never be able to make most people understand. And I guess I still need somebody to tell me that it’s no use trying.

But even if they do, I won’t give up. It’s worth it for the few people who do listen, who want to kick the mental habits of school right out of their heads and hearts and lives. The quality of fellowship such people can enjoy is something I never expected to find in this life.

So I’m glad no-one did tell me how much happiness I’d find. I’m glad no-one told me how exciting life was going to be, and how good God would be to me. Because that might have spoiled it.
sbdotsdivider

Visit The Squishable Baby to see how you can participate in the next Homeschool Blogging Carnival. hmschool blogging button

Please take the time to read the submissions by other Carnival participants:

8 thoughts on “The unanswered question

  1. Tani, I’m so happy that you’ve been able to find your way and see God’s grace, joy and blessings along your homeschooling journey. Hopefully your post will give those considering homeschooling a fresh perspective.

    – So glad to be hopping with you!

  2. Thank you so much for your post Tani! I love how you say that you are glad that nobody told you how exciting you would be – so you could find out for yourself.

    I love that!

    Homeschooling is so exciting and so wonderful. It really is. Most people focus on the fact that the kids never go away, or that it’s more work for them. They don’t see that it’s those aspects which make it so wonderful.

    Thanks so much for sharing. Thanks for your participation!

  3. Tani, just getting around to reading your post. I am so happy that you decided to be a part of the Homeschool Blogging Carnival. I totally agree with you that we begin to homeschool our kids from the day they are born. During the month of July on Unschooling Momma I will be doing an Unschooling Camp and sharing lots of fun Summer activities, recipes, and more,

Leave a Comment

