Education

I’m glad you’re here

Welcome to normal education, a blog devoted to sabotaging the myths and attacking the sacred cows of the school system and empowering you, dear reader, to seek education in the normal, ordinary way, for yourself and for any children you may have. I invite you to stand on a mountaintop with me and look over the history of the world – a history in which people have discovered for themselves the things they wanted to know, or found for themselves the books and people that could teach them. I ask you to breathe with me the fresh air of freedom.  And I would suggest to you that, even in a world where the powers of bureaucracy are becoming more frightening by the day, you can still be free in your own mind. If you have the courage.

Let’s face it – we live in a society that views the state as God and ‘education’ (meaning school) as the Messiah. That is, surely, the only sufficient explanation why millions of loving parents send their children out the door every morning to places where they will be threatened, intimidated, offered drugs, solicited to have sex, and possibly violently attacked, raped or murdered. It’s hard to understand why else the epidemic of arson, vandalism and terrorist attacks directed against schools should be interpreted as senseless, insane assaults by   lunatics against decent people, and not as the death throes of ruined minds against those who ruined them.

It takes courage to step outside of this mindset. It’s only going to take more and more courage in the years to come to admit to it. But it’s even more frightening not to.

The Western world can’t keep going the way it’s going indefinitely. It’s already exhibiting all the classic signs of a civilization in its decline and fall. If we become dependent on the present order and all its systems, where will we be when the crash comes?

Even if you don’t choose to view the world and its present problems in quite such a dramatic way, you have nothing to lose and much to gain by educating yourself and your children. Let me say it again: it’s just the normal thing to do.n-1-001p

24 thoughts on “I’m glad you’re here

  1. Tani, I clicked on your link via Jen’s place–Unite! I’m an educator (20 years plus as a classroom teacher, now ‘just’ an asst. in a Special Ed program here in the states near Seattle, WA. Wow–I was surprised to hear your words about the educational system and find out you’re in New Zealand. I guess the machine that is our school system has pretty much impacted everyone.
    I look forward to hearing more about what you’re up to.

  2. I am thankful that in South Africa we still have a semblance of decency in our schools. Most schools start their weeks with a Bible message and prayer and don’t force the children of other religions to take part. They have their own devotions. When my oldest son who is now finishing his masters degree in architecture this year, was still in school he would make friends with the druggies and at lunch breaks he used to tell about our lord Jesus incredible love for them. I think a few turned out model scholars
    Blessings From Rich Faith Rising
    Mia

  3. Interesting post…and though provoking. Admittedly, there are major things wrong with our current school system. I’ll be back to read more of your thoughts on how a better way of educating could be achieved.

    Blessings, Joan

  4. As a past home schooling mom I send you prayers and best wishes. One of the best decisions I ever made. Visiting from Share Your Cup Thursday

    If one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with success unexpected in common hours.
    Henry David Thoreau

  5. Thank you for sharing at “Tell Me a Story” I enjoyed your thoughts on the educational system and agree with you totally. Here a little there a little and eventually the system is corrupt. It wasn’t so in my day, but there have always been mean evil people – – sad to say even at an early age. and even then. But I am thankful it does not apply to all. History is changed in our school textbooks, and children are programed to give up their rights. Soon only those who don’t work for a living, will be the only ones with “rights.”

  6. I have never liked that the schools took prayer out of the system. Often I wonder what the world is coming to. I loved school as a young girl and would never have wanted to miss out on the experiences I enjoyed there. I have mixed feelings. All of my children are grown, but I would still send them to public school. Just feel that most of the children I meet and know seem to develop better social skills. Hate that there is bullying and when you hear of some of the awful things that have happened in schools it saddens me. But at the same time I realize that we can not be everywhere with our children and awful things can happen anywhere. I really appreciate your input and linking up with Share Your Cup.
    hugs,
    Jann

    • Thank you for your thoughtful and honest comments. You might be interested to see some of the research which has shown home educated people (who are now adults) to be more socially engaged and active in the community than average, as well as being happier and more satisfied with their lives. Hope to link up with you again.

Leave a Comment

